An Apology

photo-1

Dear Mother Nature,

Once again, you have put me in my place, the sunset this evening a spectacular reminder that I should never doubt your faithfulness. Of course spring had to come in its own time, and what an arrival it has made. As I drove over Afton Mountain this evening, the brilliance of the deepening blue sky seemed to expand above me, as if the night’s working canvas were twice the day’s, ready for your final touches. The crescent moon readied for ascension, while the vibrant green tips of blooming trees reached upward as if in salute. They dotted the clean lines of the Blue Ridge skyline, forming an exceptional signature, a contract signed by you for spring. By the time I got home, the sun had tucked in for the night, nestled behind the mountains. Light contracted from the sky, and as I pulled into the driveway, I noticed that our 12-year-old pear tree, stretching over our house like a protective mother, now donned her spring best, off-white petals and green, newborn leaves dappling outstretched branches. You put on a terrific show. Two thumbs up. Seriously.

Looking forward to tomorrow’s wonders. I’m sure you won’t disappoint.

Sweet dreams,

Emily

Leave a Reply

