I’m a new Trifectan!

Picture11-1

I’m a new Trifectan! Well, I will be once I participate in one of their super-groovy writing contests. And I know I will.

I’ve been looking for some great writing prompts, and in my search, I found Trifecta. Check out their website for some interesting weekly challenges based on a single word, the third definition as found in  Merriam Webster’s Online Dictionary. They also offer Triextra, a speedy weekend challenge. All entries must be no shorter than 33 words but no longer than 333. They take this “tri” thing seriously. Seriously.

The website offers a nice questionnaire you can use to introduce yourself to the community, which I’ve posted here and answered myself. Link to this page and give your own answers! There are 55 million WordPress bloggers out there, and I’d like to know some of them!

From Meet Your Fellow Trifectans:

What is your name (real or otherwise)?
Emily B. Girard or Emlee Wannabeawriter, depending on the day of the week and my level of maturity.

Describe your writing style in three words.
conversational, profuse, editable (is that a word?)

How long have you been writing online?
Since April 2013

Which, if any, other writing challenges do you participate in?
The Daily Post, Free Write Friday, my own random ones, and any one I happen to find that strikes my fancy.

Describe one way in which you could improve your writing.
write more and don’t be afraid to write a shitty first draft (to quote Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird)

What is the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?
Don’t be afraid to write a shitty first draft! (See above)

Who is your favorite author?
Whoever I’m reading, so at the moment Khaled Hosseini. I also love Robert Butler, Roy Peter Clark, and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

How do you make time to write?
Carefully. Usually first thing in the morning and late at night when everyone is sleeping.

Give us one word we should consider using as a prompt. Remember–it must have a third definition.
deliquesce

Direct us to one blog post of yours that we shouldn’t miss reading.
https://seriouslywritingwoman.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/inspired-by-kellie-elmores-free-write-friday-mourning/

2 thoughts on “I’m a new Trifectan!

Leave a Reply

