WORD OF THE DAY: Thursday, June 13th

A fun way to expand vocabulary, because unlike my waistline, my vocabulary can never be too broad.

june13WEB

sandbag: verb

1: to bank, stop up, or weight with sandbags.

2:
a: to hit or stun with or as if with a a sandbag
b: to treat unfairly or harshly
c: to coerce by crude means
d: to conceal or misrepresent one’s true position, potential, or intent especially in order to take advantage of; to hide the truth about oneself so as to gain an advantage over another

I felt my employer had sandbagged me, leaving me no choice but to quit.

The Merriam-Webster logo.

 

Related articles

3 thoughts on “WORD OF THE DAY: Thursday, June 13th

  1. I get that email, too! (Had to go and double check if it was the same one!) Thing is, I hardly look at them unless I’m hurting for something else to do on my phone….so there’s over 1,000 sitting there. Does that mean I haven’t really looked for years? Wow!

  2. Pingback: WORD OF THE DAY: Friday, June 14th | a seriously writing woman

Leave a Reply

